Gillian MacKay coaching a Conducting participent

2022 Wind Conducting Symposium – July 4-7


Resident Faculty: Gillian MacKay and Jeffrey Reynolds

Guest Faculty: Dr. Jason Caslor, Arizona State University

Designed for

  • Teachers at all levels
  • Community conductors
  • Graduate students
  • Undergraduate students who have taken a conducting course

Daily Schedule

  • Daily activities will include lectures, discussions, demonstrations, technique work, artistic explorations, and the joy of being together!
  • Each day will run 9:00am-5:00pm.
  • We will organize an optional social gathering over dinner each evening in reasonably-priced restaurants nearby.
  • Lunch will be provided on the first day.


Participants, please choose three pieces (or movements) from the works below for your three afternoon conducting opportunities (you will not be asked to commit to these choices until closer to the event!)
  • Ron Nelson ‐ Courtly Airs and Dances
  • Hugh Stuart ‐ Three Ayres from Gloucester
  • Percy Grainger ‐ Lincolnshire Posy 1,2,4,5,6
  • Kenley Kristofferson – Matters of Kindness
  • Andrew Balfour – Vision Chant
  • Sam VanderWoude – King Arthur’s Ride
  • Jennifer Jolley – Ash
  • Cait Nishimura – Wilderness
  • Katahj Copley – Unspoken
  • Catherine Likhuta – Planet B

For Fee information and to Register, click here

Registration Deadline: Friday, June 3, 2022

The 2022 Wind Conducting Symposium is now at capacity for full participants.  But we have lots of room for auditors!
Please consult the registration page. 

Residence information is available at:

2022 Choral Conducting Symposium – July 5-8

Designed for school, church, community, and post-undergraduate conductors.


The eight conducting fellows selected for Dr. Hillman’s and Dr. Apfelstadt’s masterclasses will prepare the choruses from Handel’s Messiah Part I (and recitatives, TBA) and additional short, secular works assigned no later than June 5, 2022.
Group conducting coaching for all attendees will be part of daily activities.

  • Adinu – arr. Shireen Abu-Khader (SATB)
  • Alleluia – Alejandro D. Consolacion II (SATB)
  • Ave Maria – R. Nathaniel Dett (SATB)
  • The Gift to Sing – Matthew Emery (SATB)
  • I Dream a World – Rosphanye Powell (SATB)
  • Sing to Me – Andrea Ramsey (SATB)
  • The Singing Bowl – Jeffrey Newberry (SSAA)
  • Singkap Siaga – Tracy Wong (SSAA)
  • Songs Are Thoughts – Lavinia Kell Parker (SATB)
  • Waniska – Sherryl Sewepegaham (SATB)
  • We Shall Overcome – Sheldon Ridge Love (SATB)
  • Ye Shall Have a Song – Adolphus Hailstork (SATB)
  • You Have Stars in Your Bones – Joan Szymko

Seminar Focus

  • Leading school, church, and community choral ensembles
  • Conducting gesture and artistry
  • Diverse choral repertoire and resources, including music by underrepresented composers and non-Western choral music
  • Choral Music in the 21st century
  • Choral pedagogy and rehearsal strategies
  • Vocal health and singing technique 
  • Score Study and Analysis

Seminar Includes 

  • Daily rehearsals with the Symposium Singers
  • Individual voice consultations 
  • Scores and materials
  • Networking opportunities
  • Welcome dinner on the evening of July 5, 2022

Daily Schedule

  • Tuesday, July 5 – Friday, July 8: 8:30am to 4:30pm (more details TBA)
  • Edward Johnson Building, University of Toronto


Fees (in Canadian dollars) include all instruction and materials (including scores) and the welcome dinner on the evening of July 5. 

  • Conducting fellows (eight conductors selected by application, due May 1, 2022) – $500
  • Attendees – $450
  • Full-time post-secondary students – $300
  • Discount for members of Choral Canada, Choirs Ontario, Ontario Music Educators Association – -$50

Registration Deadline: June 1, 2022 (Attendees), May 1, 2022 (Conducting fellow applicants)
Conducting fellow applicants should attach a brief letter of intent and a current CV to the registration form. 
Registration form

On-campus housing may be available. Please email Michael Denomme, Symposium Coordinator or Dr. Jamie Hillman, Artistic Director for details.

Jamie Hillman

Hilary Apfelstadt

Darryl Edwards

Joy Lee